Reflecting on food culture in Korea

I would like to talk about eating out in Korea, especially at restaurants. There are quite a few things that make the experience different from eating out in Switzerland. Firstly, the utensils are different. Instead of the usual forks and knives, you mostly get metal chopsticks and a spoon. Additionaly, you usually have to set your own table – there’s a little box with what you need for that. Now, to the food itself. In Korean restaurants, they often serve free side dishes like kimchi, rice, pickled vegetables, and sauces alongside your main order (and free water as well!). What’s really cool is that when you order, you don’t just get one dish for yourself. Instead, everyone at the table shares different dishes placed in the middle. So other than I am used to, there is no “main dish” for one person. On a side note: There is also a difference in the ordering process. Only one person talks to the waiter to order for everyone, so you’ve got to decide beforehand who’s doing that.

What I love about this sharing style is that you can try lots of different things without eating too much or spending too much money. It’s not just about the food, though. Eating together is also about enjoying each other’s company and as I see it, you get to enjoy it more when sharing food.

I like trying new dishes, so I find it convenient that sharing is the norm here in Korea when eating with friends. In Switzerland, it’s a bit harder to do that, as you don’t always get additional small plates, and sharing means swapping whole dishes with your friends. I didn’t used to think it was a problem, but now that I know about different customs, I wish it were easier to share in Switzerland too.

Though I talked about the communal aspect of dining, there’s another side to this, which is all about efficiency. Eating out in Korea seems to be a quick and affordable choice for many people. There are lots of restaurants that focus on serving food fast and well, but fast doesn’t mean fast food as we know it. The food is still quite healthy and freshly cooked. You often see people eating alone, watching TV shows (on with their headphones on their phone) or using their phones. I think, that this aspect of eating out reflects the busy nature of Korean society. People are expected to work long shifts, study a lot, or be busy in general, so there is little time left for eating or even cooking. At first, I found it strange because I think eating out should always be an experience, especially since it’s more of a special occasion in Switzerland due to higher prices. But I’ve gotten used to it, and I like that I can eat alone without feeling lonely. Still, I prefer eating with friends, which is easy to do since there are many other students who are always up for a meal together. Lastly, I want to mention how the food is served. Many dishes come in big pots, some of which keep cooking at the table. Sometimes you have to cook the food yourself, sometimes the staff check on it regularly. I like this because it keeps the food warm throughout the meal, even if it lasts a while due to chatting (or drinking) with friends. Also, many restaurants have tables with gas or fireplaces built in, which adds to the whole dining experience.

I have to admit that I’ve only lived here for a few weeks, which is by no means enough time to fully understand the food culture and all its nuances. E.g. things such as table manners in general or table manners based on hierarchy or age (which could probably be a whole new blog post). And of course, the things I shared in this blog post only reflect my own experience, which, as I said, is very limited. Still, I believe I’ve already noticed some differences compared to my previous dining experiences. It’s made me realize how important food and eating together are for a culture, showing how people see their own culture and feeling of belonging.

Spicy chicken (cooked in a pot)

-Luisa Schwander

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑